When in doubt, just use a disintegration spell

Finished this illustration just before 2015 ends! I really had a long hard fight with this one, since I had to get a lot of information and detail on a limited, portrait oriented canvas. To get ruins of a huge temple, an enormous monster and an adventuring party fighting said monster in a sinkhole in a vertical composition and in one painting was a gruesome battle on its own. If that wasn’t enough, the blast of the spell caster created the annoying effect of flattening everything. So I had to juggle a lot of problems at the same time: depth, different and conflicting light sources and their shadows, design and poses of the characters, multiple focal points…

If I had the time and the courage, I would redo the whole painting on a landscape oriented canvas. Also, a weird thing is going on with the colors and different devices (like tablet vs smartphone vs computer display). For some reason,  lot of the blueish and greenish colors are lost, even on this blog. There is a difference with what I see as I type my text and the preview. So if you want to see the best image of this illustrations you can go to my website.

See you next year!

Disintegration spells are awesome!
Disintegration spells are awesome!
Leave a Reply

